Youth Unemployment in Botswana: Understanding the Demand and Supply Gaps

I. About CBMS-Botswana

Objectives of the Project

  • Understanding how the risk of becoming unemployed varies with demographic characteristics, educational qualifications, skills level, etc. 
  • Understanding how the patterns of job mobility change with demographic characteristic, educational qualifications, skills level, etc. 
  • Understanding why school going age youth are in the labour market rather than progressing with other levels of education.

II. Institutional Partner

Department of Economics, University of Botswana

The University of Botswana was established on 1st July 1982 by an Act of Parliament, as a Parastatal fully funded by Government. The University has over the years been, and continues to play an important role in the development of the country. In this regard, the functions of the University are (i) to improve the quality of, and expand the quantity of the human resources needed for development, (ii) to act as the source of the collective knowledge and experience of the nation and the world. The first function is fulfilled through the taught programmes offered by the University and its affiliated institutions, leading to the award of diplomas and degrees (Bachelor, Master, MPhil and PhD).The second function is achieved through research and development; consultancies and information services by the staff of the University and its affiliated institution individually and collectively.

III. Forms, Papers, and Reports

Working Papers

To follow

Policy Brief

To follow

IV. CBMS Core Indicators of Poverty

To follow

V. Contact Information

Inquiries regarding CBMS-Botswana may be sent to:

Department of Economics - University of Botswana
Telephone:  (267) 3552151
Tele-fax:  +256-41-4269491
Email Address:

Professor Happy Siphambe
Project Leader/Director
Department of Economics - University of Botswana
Telephone and Fax Numbers:  (267) 3555439
E-mail Address:

Deputy Project Leader: Malebogo Bakwena, PhD
E-mail Address:

Research Team Members:

Mavis Kolobe
Itumeleng Oageng
Linda Motswagae
Keamogetse Setlhare
Lekgatlhamang Setlhare
Lesego Sekwati



Funded by