PEP Board of Directors

Since 2013, PEP's international Board of Directors is in charge of determining broad strategic directions for the organization, defining the lines of action and institutional composition (approval/selection of partners and directors), providing oversight and monitoring the overall performance in achieving organizational goals.

The Board is composed of seven voting members – distinguished researchers and global experts in economic policy and policy analysis – and the Executive Director as an ex-officio member, and holds two official meetings annually, including one in person during the PEP Annual Conference. The current members are presented below.

Board members

Board Chair

Fred Carden
Using Evidence Inc.

Finance and Audit Committee, Chair

Haroon Bhorat
Professor, School of Economics 
Director, Development Policy Research Unit
Cape Town University
South Africa


Partnership Committee, Chair

Santiago Levy Algazi
Senior Fellow (Non-resident)
Brookings Institution

Partnership Committee

Hanan Morsy
Director of Macroeconomic Forecasting and Research
African Development Bank
Côte d'Ivoire


Board Treasurer
Finance and Audit Committee

Carol Newman
Department of Economics 
Trinity College Dublin

Partnership Committee

Dominique van de Walle
Visiting Fellow, Center for Global Development
Visiting Professor, 
Ungku Aziz Centre for Development Studies,
University of Malaysia


Go Shimada 
Associate Professor
School of Information and Communication
Meiji University

Ex-officio member

Jane Mariara
PEP Executive Director

Funded by