PEP welcomes two new members to the Board of Directors

March 2018

Santiago Levy Algazi and Xiaobo Zhang join the PEP Board of Directors.

Error message

You are accessing PEP using an unencrypted connection. For your security, PEP only supports account logins using a secure protocol such as HTTPS. You can switch to HTTPS by trying to view this page again after changing the URL in your browser's location bar to begin with "https" instead of "http". Please contact site admin for help if this error continues.

March 2018 - PEP welcomes Xiaobo Zhang and Santiago Levy Algazi to the Board of Directors and thanks outgoing members Leonard Wantchekon and Nora Lustig for their service.

Xiaobo Zhang is a distinguished chair professor of economics at the National School of Development, Peking University in China, and senior research fellow of IFPRI. His research fields include agricultural economics, development economics, and Chinese economy. He has rich field experience in developing countries and has conducted surveys in China, Bangladesh, Ethiopia, India, and Myanmar. 

Santiago Levy Algazi is Vice President for Sector and Knowledge at the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB). He has held various high-level policymaking positions in Mexico and is widely published, particularly on the topics of poverty reduction, competitiveness, foreign exchange policy, export imbalances, pricing, microeconomics and energy. 

PEP is very grateful to Professors Leonard Wantchekon and Nora Lustig who served for five years and one year, respectively.

Chair of the PEP Board of Directors, Mustapha Nabli said: “I would like to take this opportunity to express my gratitude to PEP’s outgoing board members, Leonard Wantechekon and Nora Lustig, who have contributed immensely to our organization. I would also like to welcome the two new members, Xiaobo Zhang and Santiago Levy Algazi, to the PEP family.”


Xiaobo Zhang (top) and Santiago Levy Algazi

join the PEP Board of Directors




Funded by